health services. Health Districts within the Region are represented on a District Health Council. In addition to the general public health services provided in all regions there is, in Health Region No. 1, a complete medical-care plan including general practitioner and specialist services. The plan is financed by per capita fees and a property tax, in addition to Provincial Government contributions. In many districts within the other Regions, a municipal doctor system is in operation. Medical services are provided under a contract between the municipal authority and medical practitioner.

The Medical and Hospital Services Branch is concerned with the administration of the Saskatchewan Hospital Services Plan, hospital planning and administration, medical services, municipal doctor plans and an air-ambulance service. Hospital care is available to all residents under the compulsory hospital plan, which is financed by an annual tax of \$10 for adults and \$5 for children, with a \$30 family maximum; any further funds needed are provided by the Provincial Treasury. Payment of the tax for social assistance recipients is made by the agency of government responsible for their hospital care and treatment. Separate provision is made for the free hospitalization of tuberculous and mental patients.

The Medical Services Division of the Branch supervises payment of fees to physicians, dentists, and approved hospitals for indigents outside municipal jurisdictions. In addition to hospital care, medical, dental and optical services and some drugs are provided to old-age and to blind pensioners and their dependants and to beneficiaries of mothers' allowances.

The Psychiatric Services Branch supervises psychiatric hospitals and administers community psychiatric services including clinics.

The Saskatchewan Cancer Commission, with the Deputy Minister of Public Health as Chairman, operates consultative, diagnostic and treatment clinics in Saskatoon and Regina serving all residents at public cost.

Alberta.—The Department of Public Health consists of the following Divisions: Communicable Diseases, Public Health Education, Hospital and Medical Services, Laboratory, Public Health Nursing, Municipal Hospitals, Social Hygiene, Sanitary Engineering and Sanitation, Cancer Services, Mental Health, Tuberculosis Control, Entomology, Vital Statistics and Nutrition Services.

Under the Public Health Act a Provincial Board of Health, consisting of the Provincial Medical Officer of Health, the Provincial Sanitary Engineer, and the Provincial Bacteriologist was established and the Province was divided into health districts. A local Board of Health was formed in each district under the supervision of the Provincial Board, which also administers health services in unorganized territories.

Eighteen Rural Health Districts, some administered by full-time medical health officers, others by public health nurses, administer a public health program which includes infant and child welfare clinics and pre- and post-natal instruction. In isolated areas public health nurses are in charge of the distribution of drugs and medical and surgical supplies and provide first-aid and obstetrical services.